Gluten & Allergy Free Grains

It’s coming to be that time of year again when we crave hearty grains and warmer foods to celebrate the Fall and Winter. If you’re part of a family where allergies, gluten sensitivities, or other dietary concerns exist, you may be wondering which grains are a good choice for your family this year. We’ve compiled a list to help make it easy!

The following grains DO CONTAIN GLUTEN and may aggravate allergies more than others…

  1. Wheat
  2. Barley
  3. Rye
  4. Spelt
  5. Kamut
  6. Durum
  7. Semolina
  8. Farro
  9. Bulgar
  10. Triticale

The following grains DO NOT CONTAIN GLUTEN and may aggravate allergies less than others…

  1. Amaranth
  2. Buckwheat
  3. Corn
  4. Millet
  5. Oats
  6. Quinoa
  7. Rice
  8. Sorghum
  9. Teff
  10. Wild Rice Varieties

Make sure that the gluten-free grains you choose are processed in a gluten-free environment if that’s an important consideration for your family. Many grains, especially oats, can be contaminated with wheat unless they are grown and processed in a truly gluten-free way.

One thought on “Gluten & Allergy Free Grains

  1. Rayford Dang says:

    Gluten is the composite of a gliadin and a glutenin, which is conjoined with starch in the endosperm of various grass-related grains. The prolamin and glutelin from wheat (gliadin, which is alcohol-soluble, and glutenin, which is only soluble in dilute acids or alkalis) constitute about 80% of the protein contained in wheat fruit. Being insoluble in water, they can be purified by washing away the associated starch. Worldwide, gluten is a source of protein, both in foods prepared directly from sources containing it, and as an additive to foods otherwise low in protein.^

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *